UZ | RU | EN
History of Andrology

A Few Words about Andrology and the History of its Development...

According to the definition which has been proposed by the European Academy of Andrology for many years, Andrology is a branch of science which involves studying the normal and pathological states of the male reproductive system. However, in recent years the field of andrology research has included such problems as male sexual dysfunctions, male sterility and female sexual disorders.
About fifty years ago, andrology was practised by endocrinologists, gynaecologists, dermatologists, psychologists and urologists, who insisted that this branch of medicine should be within the area of their competence. Nevertheless, in the last 30-35 years, thanks to the selflessness of andrologists, andrology won great achievements, and in some countries you can find the ones who even admit that andrology is an independent area and field.(Nieschlag E: Scope and goals of Andrology. In Hellstrom WJG(ed): The Atlaas of Heman Sex Anatoming, Allen Press, Lawarence, 1999, 1-25)
Despite being a new and emerging branch of science, the word "andrology" comes from ancient Greek: andros — man, logos — science, and it was first used by Alciphoron and Lucianus. Most records relating to the culture of Ancient Greece and Egypt contain quite a number of ceremonies and rituals related to andrology. In those days, sexual relationships were considered as something divine.
Hippocrates also, relying on the culture of Ancient Greece, would say that the imbalance between the four fluids (blood, phlegm, mucus and bile) and the four elements (earth, air, fire and water) might lead to impotency. Besides, Hippocrates believed that testicles through blood vessels were connected with the genital organ and it was the pathology of these vessels which could become the cause of impotency. (Hippocrates. Airs, waters and places. In: Chadwichk AJ, Mann WN(eds): Hippocratic writings. Penguin, London, 1987, pp47-64.)
This concept was changed after the experiments of Leonardo da Vinci, during which the convicts had a reflex erection while they were being executed by hanging, as well as the experiments of Reiner de Graaf, during which corpses had an erection at the moment of injecting a liquid into the internal iliac artery. After that, alongside with other fields of science, there were rapid developments in the field of male and female anatomy. In the twentieth century Wilkonson left written records, which contain important ideas and approaches to the treatment of such diseases as gonorrhea, impotency and urethral stricture. And Echhard would say that penile erection is a neurovascular phenomenon.
Whilst comprehensive researches into the problem of sterility in andrology were stimulated by Lovenhook's invention of the microscope and the detailed description of spermatozoons given by Ham in 1686, the contemporary development of studies in this field was significantly influenced by the works of the German gynaecologist Harold Siebke.(Dunsmuir WD: History of erectile dysfunction. In Carson CC III, Kirby RS (eds): Textbook of Erectile Dysfunction, ISIS Medical Medie, Oxford, 1999, pp3-13)
As we mentioned above, until 1980 andrology was practised by several specialists, who named it differently. For example, Spermatology and Sexology. But these terms have very narrow meanings and do not reflect the essence of andrology. Spermatology is a branch of science which studies properties of sperm, and Sexology deals with psychological features of sexual disorders. (Johnson J: Literary and historical aspects of disorders of sexual potency. In: Johnson J (ed) disorders of sexual impotence in the male. Pergamon Pres, London, 1968, pp1-9.
Angletti LR: For a history of andrology. Med Secoli 2001; 13:251-254)
The use of the word "Andrology" and the recognition of andrology as an independent branch of science began in the 1950s. Walter Ludvik from Australia in his book titled "Andrologie", which was published in 1976, told about diseases of the male reproductive system. And the book by Alpay Kelami titled "Atlas of Operative Andrology", published in 1980, served as an introduction to genital surgery. Moreover, in those years Kelami and Pryor would jointly organise symposiums on andrology and told urologists about the latest achievements of medicine in the field of andrology. (Schirren C: Andrology. Origin and development of a special discipline in medicine. Reflection and view in the future. Andrologia 1985; 17: 117-125
Ludvik W: Andrologie. GT Verlag, Stuttgart, 1976
Kelami A” Atlas of Operative Andrology. De Guyter Verlag, Berlin, 1980)
In the course of its development andrology have been changing some terms not expressing their relevant meanings, for example, the use of the term "erectile dysfunction" instead of "impotency". Furthermore, world population growth, the growth of the elderly population, including their increasing number of health problems alongside with sexual disorders presuppose close collaboration between andrologists and geriatricians.
In conclusion, we can say that andrology, which studies reproductive system diseases and male sexual disorders, including factors influencing women's reproductive health, and changes in men arising from ageing, is still at the stage of development.
Andrologists-urologists, applying the latest scientific achievements, endeavour their best efforts to cure such diseases and improve health and quality of life for all people.
Zarifjon Murodovich Jumaboevich, urologist-andrologist.

UZ | RU | EN
История Андрологии

Несколько слов об андрологии и истории ее развития...

Согласно определению, предлагаемому Европейской Академией Андрологии на протяжении многих лет, Андрология это наука, которая изучает нормальное и патологическое состояния мужской репродуктивной системы. Тем не менее, в последние годы в сферу исследования андрологии были включены такие вопросы как изучение половых расстройств у мужчин, мужского бесплодия и половых нарушений у женщин.
Около пятидесяти лет тому назад, андрологией занимались эндокринологи, гинекологи, дерматологи, психологи и урологи, которые утверждали, что данная отрасль медицины должна находиться в их ведении. Однако за последние 30-35 лет, благодаря самоотверженности, проявленной урологами, андрология добилась больших успехов, а в некоторых странах находятся даже те, которые признают, что андрология является отдельной областью и направлением. (Nieschlag E: Scope and goals of Andrology. In Hellstrom WJG(ed): The Atlaas of Heman Sex Anatoming, Allen Press, Lawarence, 1999, 1-25)
Несмотря на то, что андрология на сегодняшний день является молодой и развивающейся наукой, слово "андрология" имеет древнегреческое происхождение: Andros=мужчина, Logos=знание, впервые было употреблено Алкифроном и Лукианом. Многие записи, относящиеся к античной культуре Древней Греции и Египта, содержат немало обрядов и ритуалов, связанных с андрологией. В те времена половые отношения рассматривались как нечто божественное.
Гиппократ тоже, основываясь на античной культуре Древней Греции, говорил, что нарушение баланса между четырьмя жидкостями (кровью, мокротой, слизью и желчью) и четырьмя элементами (землей, воздухом, огнем и водой) приводит к импотенции. Гиппократ также полагал, что яичко посредством сосудов связано с половым органом и патология именно этих сосудов может стать причиной импотенции. (Hippocrates. Airs, waters and places. In: Chadwichk AJ, Mann WN(eds): Hippocratic writings. Penguin, London, 1987, pp47-64.)
Это представление изменилось после экспериментов Леонардо Да Винчи, в которых наблюдалась рефлекторная эрекция у осужденных в момент казни на виселице, а также экспериментов Ренье де Граафа, в которых наблюдалась эрекция у трупов в момент введения жидкости во внутреннюю подвздошную артерию. После этого, наряду с другими направлениями науки, стала стремительно развиваться и анатомия мужских и женских половых органов. В XIX веке Уилконсон оставил в своих записях важные идеи и подходы к лечению таких заболеваний, как гонорея, импотенция и стриктура уретры. А Экхард говорил, что эрекция это нейроваскулярный феномен.
Если большим толчком к всестороннему изучению проблемы бесплодия в андрологии послужило изобретение Левенгуком микроскопа и подробное описание сперматозоида, данное Хамом в 1686 году, то современному развитию исследований в этой области в значительной степени повлияли работы немецкого гинеколога Гарольда Зибке. (Dunsmuir WD: History of erectile dysfunction. In Carson CC III, Kirby RS (eds): Textbook of Erectile Dysfunction, ISIS Medical Medie, Oxford, 1999, pp3-13)
Как мы упоминали выше, до 1980 года андрологией занимались несколько специалистов, которые называли ее по-разному. Например, Сперматология и Сексология. Но это более узкие понятия и они не отражают суть андрологии. Сперматология это наука, изучающая свойства спермы, а Сексология изучает психологические особенности сексуальных нарушений. (Johnson J: Literary and historical aspects of disorders of sexual potency. In: Johnson J (ed) disorders of sexual impotence in the male. Pergamon Pres, London, 1968, pp1-9.
Angletti LR: For a history of andrology. Med Secoli 2001; 13:251-254)
Употребление слова "Андрология" и признание андрологии как самостоятельной науки начались в 1950-е годы. Австралиец Уолтер Людвик в своей книге “Andrologie”, которая была издана в 1976 году, рассказал о заболеваниях мужской генитальной системы. А изданная в 1980 году книга Алпая Келами “Atlas of Operative Andrology” послужила введением в генитальную хирургию. Более того, в те годы Келами и Приор совместно организовывали симпозиумы по андрологии и рассказывали урологам о последних достижениях медицины в области андрологии. (Schirren C: Andrology. Origin and development of a special discipline in medicine. Reflection and view in the future. Andrologia 1985; 17: 117-125
Ludvik W: Andrologie. GT Verlag, Stuttgart, 1976
Kelami A” Atlas of Operative Andrology. De Guyter Verlag, Berlin, 1980)
Андрологии на своем пути развития приходится изменять некоторые термины, которые не выражают свой смысл. В качестве примера можно привести употребление термина "эректильная дисфункция" вместо термина "импотенция". Кроме того, рост населения земли, увеличение доли пожилых и старых людей в общей численности населения, в том числе развитие у них проблем со здоровьем наряду с половыми расстройствами предполагают совместные действия андрологов и гериатрологов.
Резюмируя, мы можем сказать, что андрология, которая изучает нарушения репродуктивной системы и половые расстройства у мужчин, а также факторы, влияющие на репродуктивное здоровье женщин, и изменения у мужчин, вызываемые старением, все еще находится на стадии развития.
Андрологи-урологи, используя все достижения мировой науки, приложат все усилия для лечения таких заболеваний и обеспечения людям здоровой и качественной жизни.
Уролог–андролог Муродов Зарифжон Жумабоевич.